Username [Register?]: | Password [Lost Password?]: Save Password?
Bottom of Page
INTL v5.0 > Site Comments > Archives > Archived Forums > Linux Corner: computers for something other than windows? WHAT > Fix my shit (ask questions mega-thread) > Viewing Thread
Also Here: 1 guest.
Page: [ 1 2 3 ] [ Thread Views: 5119 | Total Posts: 53 ]
Rate This Thread: Reply to Thread | Create New Thread | Create New Poll | Convert To Poll | Subscribe To Thread
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
(Originally posted on: 12-09-06 11:59:01 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

I work on the Geek Squad now, I want more practice troubleshooting peoples computers.

please somebody ask me questions about why your computer is acting funny, or not at all. If you have a computer that's slowed down recently, won't read CDs, want advice on what upgrade would help you the most, or if you just need to know how to do something that's soo simple or silly that it doesn't need its own thread post it here.

Please include as much information as you can think of including when the problem started, what causes it, how old the computer is, what type of computer it is, and any other piece of information that probably doesn't matter.

Finally, don't flame unless warranted.

i.e. "all I do is my banking, and surf hard-core pornography all day, I don't really need anti-virus or the latest updates, do I?"

I've seen people say this, and they should be shot.

Anything more intelligent than this should be discussed in a friendly open atmosphere.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
Coca-Cola
INTL Premium Member

MY WIG-WAM WOKS!

Ballkicks: (+503 / -183)
Posts: 3103 (0.487)
Reg. Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Gender: Male
Reply 1 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 01:43:40 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Ok I've got one.

New computer, bought it in May. Specs:

Dell Dimension DV051
Pentium IV - 2.8GHz
Win XP Media Center Edition 2002 w/SP2
Sony DVD-ROM DDU1615


Sometimes when I try to run, play, or copy a CD, my CD-ROM revs up and sounds like a chain saw. It sometimes does this on startup too. It doesn't sound too healthy, and it started doing it early on.

Now it doesn't do it all the time, so a friend told me that it might only do it on special copyright-protected disks that it has trouble reading. I haven't been able to verify that; have you heard of this before? Is there a solution, or is it basically nothing to worry about anyways?

mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 2 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 07:46:50 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

It could be a few things.

First thing, when you right click on my computer, select properties, hardware, and then device manager, and dvd cd-rom drives does it list your specific model, or does use a generic windows driver. have you checked the sony website and looked for specific/newer drivers?

Next, open your case and blow out the drive with some canned air. While you're in there make sure that all the screws holding it in place are firm. If you want to go overboard like me, get some rubber washers and put them between the drive and the mounting bracket. I've done this to all my drives before, and it makes a really big difference.

You could hear a bad bearing, but it's hard for me to tell without hearing the drive myself. If that's the case, you probably should try to get another drive because this one is on its last leg.

It's normal to hear a drive rev up, but any grinding noise is not normal.

Do these sounds completely go away when you don't have a disc in the drive?
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
KaosDeath
INTL Premium Member

literally believes that communism works

Ballkicks: (+70 / -32)
Posts: 247 (0.049)
Reg. Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 3 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 07:57:08 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

I have one...

My PC will periodically not turn on or turn off randomly. I have replaced my memory and my power supply is in good working order. Also it will take up to 10 min to POST.

NOTE: I have already figured out & fixed this issue.
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 4 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 08:09:06 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from KaosDeath:
I have one...

My PC will periodically not turn on or turn off randomly. I have replaced my memory and my power supply is in good working order. Also it will take up to 10 min to POST.

NOTE: I have already figured out & fixed this issue.

Hmmmm..... I had a problem similar to that where my case power button was actually bad, and would short out shutting everything down. That's probably not very common though. I'm probably a dumbass, but what do you mean POST?
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
KaosDeath
INTL Premium Member

literally believes that communism works

Ballkicks: (+70 / -32)
Posts: 247 (0.049)
Reg. Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 5 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 08:15:23 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from mmac:
Quoted from KaosDeath:
I have one...

My PC will periodically not turn on or turn off randomly. I have replaced my memory and my power supply is in good working order. Also it will take up to 10 min to POST.

NOTE: I have already figured out & fixed this issue.

Hmmmm..... I had a problem similar to that where my case power button was actually bad, and would short out shutting everything down. That's probably not very common though. I'm probably a dumbass, but what do you mean POST?


Power
On
Self
Test
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 6 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 08:20:44 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Corruption with the Bios or HD?

That's not a lot of information to go on. If you were still having the problem, I'd send you a CD to try and run.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
KaosDeath
INTL Premium Member

literally believes that communism works

Ballkicks: (+70 / -32)
Posts: 247 (0.049)
Reg. Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 7 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-09-06 08:46:25 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from mmac:
Corruption with the Bios or HD?

That's not a lot of information to go on. If you were still having the problem, I'd send you a CD to try and run.


It was not the HD or Bios Corruption. I actually found out the North bridge had over heated and as a result two of those tiny ass resistors had unsoldered themselves from the contact points causing a short in the board. Serves me right for buying a $50 motherboard.
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 8 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-10-06 11:51:00 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

I think that's all I paid for my asus a8v, but that's a pretty uncommon problem for a board to fix. How long did it take you to figure out what happened? I think the only way I would have figured it out would be by opening the case up and smelling, or looking around inside the case.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
wheezy
The Reel RS Krew
Lord Handsome

The next time you wanna call a coon a nigger, call that spearchucker a jungle bunny instead. I know, I know... nigger rolls off the tongue so easy, but there is a world of rarely used racial slurs that we need to start utilizing. White power!

Ballkicks: (+527 / -190)
Posts: 4335 (0.639)
Reg. Date: Dec 2001
Location:
Gender: Male
Reply 9 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-10-06 07:16:34 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Why does my computer shit itself every time I close a video game. (Namely Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth 2). After playing it, when I exit, it takes a long time, and then the rest of my computer lags ass for like 3-4 minutes. And when I alt-tab, it's really really slow to get going.

I think it's always been like this.

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Dimension 4600C
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A07
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, ~2.8GHz
Memory: 510MB RAM
Page File: 435MB used, 813MB available
U CANT TRICK THE TRICKSTER

Moderator of the Proud Inside Discussions Forum.
www.uselessstatic.com
KaosDeath
INTL Premium Member

literally believes that communism works

Ballkicks: (+70 / -32)
Posts: 247 (0.049)
Reg. Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 10 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-10-06 11:02:27 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from mmac:
I think that's all I paid for my asus a8v, but that's a pretty uncommon problem for a board to fix. How long did it take you to figure out what happened? I think the only way I would have figured it out would be by opening the case up and smelling, or looking around inside the case.


After I tested the HD and Power supply, I replaced the Memory. After that I got this hair brained idea that my mother board had shorted out. So on a whim I opened the case and unhooked every thing and looked over the Mother board with a magnifying glass. I found the short on the underside of the north bridge. I think the whole thing took me two weeks of testing & troubleshooting to figure out. The best thing from all this is that I now have 4GB of memory in my new system and a rockin new Board that I got on Black Friday for $89.00. So I'm a happy man.
Shadowe

I kinda want to see that up someone's ass

Ballkicks: (+90 / -84)
Posts: 1274 (0.224)
Reg. Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amen
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 11 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-10-06 11:12:56 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from wheezy:
Why does my computer shit itself every time I close a video game. (Namely Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth 2). After playing it, when I exit, it takes a long time, and then the rest of my computer lags ass for like 3-4 minutes. And when I alt-tab, it's really really slow to get going.

I think it's always been like this.

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Dimension 4600C
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A07
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, ~2.8GHz
Memory: 510MB RAM
Page File: 435MB used, 813MB available


I had the same problem, it's just your computer taking a long time do clear everything out of ram and swap and get back to windows mode. I plugged in 2gb of ram and i can alt-tab even Oblivion instantly.
If there's something wrong, those who have the ability to take action have the responsibility to take action.
goatsnacks
Administrators

"When I decide to brush (maybe once a week)" -Snook, INTL's #1 Scrub

Ballkicks: (+512 / -167)
Posts: 3232 (0.54)
Reg. Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Gender: Male
Reply 12 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-11-06 09:27:51 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

why doesn't my gamecube load disc anymore *sigh*
Its like watching tv except its a show about wet clothes.
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 13 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-11-06 11:40:27 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from wheezy:
Why does my computer shit itself every time I close a video game. (Namely Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth 2). After playing it, when I exit, it takes a long time, and then the rest of my computer lags ass for like 3-4 minutes. And when I alt-tab, it's really really slow to get going.

I think it's always been like this.

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Dimension 4600C
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A07
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, ~2.8GHz
Memory: 510MB RAM
Page File: 435MB used, 813MB available


I agree, every computer should have atleast 1 gig, I currently have 2. The slowness is caused by your computer using the hard drive for temporary storage(the purpose of ram), after you run out of physical memory.

If you try shutting down some background services it might make your life easier. You can do some of this by going through run>msconfig>startup from there choose things that startup with your computer, and run in the background which you really don't need. ehtray and msmsgs are two examples of useless programs that startup with your computer.





Quoted from Aaron:
why doesn't my gamecube load disc anymore *sigh*
Your laser is probably dirty, get a can of air and clean the entire system out. Then take a q-tip and some ispropyl alcohol and see if you can physically clean the laser yourself.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
KaosDeath
INTL Premium Member

literally believes that communism works

Ballkicks: (+70 / -32)
Posts: 247 (0.049)
Reg. Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Gender: Unspecified
Reply 14 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-12-06 09:27:57 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from wheezy:
Why does my computer shit itself every time I close a video game. (Namely Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth 2). After playing it, when I exit, it takes a long time, and then the rest of my computer lags ass for like 3-4 minutes. And when I alt-tab, it's really really slow to get going.

I think it's always been like this.

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Dimension 4600C
BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A07
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, ~2.8GHz
Memory: 510MB RAM
Page File: 435MB used, 813MB available


Quoted from mmac:
I agree, every computer should have atleast 1 gig, I currently have 2. The slowness is caused by your computer using the hard drive for temporary storage(the purpose of ram), after you run out of physical memory.

If you try shutting down some background services it might make your life easier. You can do some of this by going through run>msconfig>startup from there choose things that startup with your computer, and run in the background which you really don't need. ehtray and msmsgs are two examples of useless programs that startup with your computer.


You work at Best Buy now...You must sell Wheezy a new Media system with the 3yr service plan & $1000's worth of accessories and software. (a cut on Best Buy only because I worked as a Tech there just before they turned to Geek Squad)





Quoted from Aaron:
why doesn't my gamecube load disc anymore *sigh*
Quoted from mmac:
Your laser is probably dirty, get a can of air and clean the entire system out. Then take a q-tip and some ispropyl alcohol and see if you can physically clean the laser yourself.


A Tech never reveals his secrets...Also they will tell you this is an opportunity to upgrade to the Wii...Don't forget the PSP/PRP. Or is Geek Squad immune from the horror of floor sales. I wasn't, I was the only tech on the bench that had sales experience so I was always put on the floor as "the expert". I was amused at first by the level of ignorance customers had but it got old answering the same questions over & over again.
goatsnacks
Administrators

"When I decide to brush (maybe once a week)" -Snook, INTL's #1 Scrub

Ballkicks: (+512 / -167)
Posts: 3232 (0.54)
Reg. Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Gender: Male
Reply 15 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-12-06 04:07:36 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

That means nothing is broken...score!
Its like watching tv except its a show about wet clothes.
Woadie

Communism works in principle, and so do I

Ballkicks: (+52 / -11)
Posts: 563 (0.084)
Reg. Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lithuanian SSR
Gender: Male
Reply 16 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-12-06 04:59:48 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Welcome to the club, Mmac. I'm a In-home Cadet in Las Vegas.


A few things about working for Best Buy.

1. All they care about is what you can con the customer into and i'm not talking about the PSP's or PRP's a lot of those are worth it. My gripe is with the fucking accy's they force on people. WHO THE FUCK WANTS TO PAY $35 for a USB cable? Fucking capitalism.

2. Numbers Numbers Numbers. It doesn't matter how much ass you kiss unless you know how on-site and precinct did for the day and the days before budget-wise you wont go anywhere. Managers there get off when an employee asks "How are the numbers looking for today?"

3. If they have you working the front counter sell but don't BE THE GO-TO Salesman at the counter. Let them know from the start you intend on actually working on computers and not talking to fucking stupid old people or psychotic people who don't speak The King's English for the rest of your Best Buy career.

4. Run the system analyzer even though it's a complete piece of shit and not worth the blank cd it was burned on. Best Buy likes to come up with a SHIT TON of retarded ideas that look good on paper but aren't in anyway practical. It's a shoddy tool that doesn't work.

Which brings me to my final point...

5. FUCK JOHNNY UTAH. FUCK JOHNNY UTAH, THE IDIOT THAT CAME UP WITH THE IDEA, THE FUCKTARD AT CORP. THAT FORCES US TO USE IT, AND THE FUCKSTICK REMOTE USER THAT TAKES 3 FUCKING DAYS TO RUN A GOD-DAMNED SOFTWARE DIAGNOSTIC....


All-in-all it's not too bad. Once you get out of the store half the time like I get to do the job actually doesn't suck that much.

Good luck with all the fucking acronyms. Remember F.A.S.A!

Fuck
All
Stupid
Acronyms
Ваш Бог мертв
goatsnacks
Administrators

"When I decide to brush (maybe once a week)" -Snook, INTL's #1 Scrub

Ballkicks: (+512 / -167)
Posts: 3232 (0.54)
Reg. Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Gender: Male
Reply 17 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-12-06 07:42:20 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

O
K

*still dancing about unbroken gamecube*
Its like watching tv except its a show about wet clothes.
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 18 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-12-06 07:52:44 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

We don't usually use Johnny Utah, and the only thing I'm forced to pawn is the tripple play.

You have to admit though, after and ACRD when you show the husband and wife the printoff of spyware removed from their system, and it consists of stuff from hard-core porn sites is quite hilarious.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
FD2
area man
oh you die now (not you FD2)

Ballkicks: (+7 / -4)
Posts: 11 (0.002)
Reg. Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Reply 19 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-13-06 07:20:08 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

If I close my MacBook, or shut it down, a few minutes after I turn it on again it crashes. If I hit the power, it crashes after a few seconds. If I hold down the power button, it makes a loud noises then works fine.
mmac
INTL Premium Member
it's INTL, not the fucking UN - Amphy

3ms will rise again

Ballkicks: (+254 / -35)
Posts: 2339 (0.416)
Reg. Date: Feb 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Reply 20 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-13-06 08:03:33 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

All I really know to do on a mac is to verify the disc permissions, you can fix these by going to apps> utilities> (Disk something or another)> then in the center of the window is a button that says verify disc permissions. If that doesn’t fix it, call apple support. Apple support is the only telephone support service that I’ve worked with, and actually liked.
An atom walks into a bar looking very depressed.
Bartender: What's wrong?
Atom: I've just lost an electron.
Bartender: Are you sure?
Atom: Yeah, I'm positive.
FD2
area man
oh you die now (not you FD2)

Ballkicks: (+7 / -4)
Posts: 11 (0.002)
Reg. Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Reply 21 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-13-06 09:56:06 PM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Cool, thanks.
Scarlet
Woah

Skank

Ballkicks: (+82 / -89)
Posts: 489 (0.088)
Reg. Date: Apr 2005
Location: England, Uk
Gender: Female
Reply 22 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-14-06 06:20:04 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

My friends DVD drive will not play certain film DVDs, but will play others. It seems that the DVDs it chooses to play are fairly random; region, number of layers (I think this is what he said) etc seem to have no effect of what will and won't play. It sounded like something to do with Starforce to me originally, but my friend claims he's never installed any games with copy protection.

I don't know the drive/computer specifics off hand, but I'll find out later and edit them into this post.
- Scarlet.
Nemesis
Zuri's Cat
They're ALL scientologists damn you! IT'S A CONSPIRACY!

Ballkicks: (+87 / -19)
Posts: 429 (0.067)
Reg. Date: Dec 2002
Location: Detroit
Gender: Male
Reply 23 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-14-06 09:41:44 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

I've got an e-machines T2085 that I bought a couple years back and I was on it and it just turned off, when I tried to turn it back on it refused to. Replaced the power supply and it turns back on but it won't put out video. Any ideas?
Jesuß
INTL Premium Member
Healing America by Beating People Up

It's "erroneous," you uptight fairy.

Ballkicks: (+137 / -34)
Posts: 895 (0.139)
Reg. Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Reply 24 of 53 (Originally posted on: 12-14-06 10:12:03 AM)
Edit Post | Edit History | Send PM | Change Title | Reply w/Quote | Report Post | Ignore | Show All Posts

Quoted from Nemesis:
I've got an e-machines T2085 that I bought a couple years back and I was on it and it just turned off, when I tried to turn it back on it refused to. Replaced the power supply and it turns back on but it won't put out video. Any ideas?


Have you checked the motherboard for damage? (burst caps)?

Also, here's one (yes there is a correct answer, I run into once every couple of weeks, and it took me a while to figure it out).

Standard system will connect to the internet - but not really.

ipconfig works correctly, and from the console, you can use ping, tracert, and nslookup normally. However, when using any web browser, you get a timeout error.

Solutions?
Without you I am only revolutions of ruin.
Quick Reply
Page: [ 1 2 3 ] Reply to Thread | Create New Thread | Create New Poll | Convert To Poll | Subscribe To Thread
[ Thread Views: 5119 | Total Posts: 53 ]